It started with a smile. And the sparkle in your eyes.

It started when my glance at you was shy at best.

And your glance at me was not met by this pair of nervous eyes.

We worked together. It began there too.

Maybe if we didn’t have to see each other too often, this feeling would never happen.

Maybe then, I could meet you; happy friendship in my own terms.

Maybe then I could look at you and never feel the panic deep within.

The panic that I tried to hide, in disguise of indifference. Which you mistook as unfriendly antagonism. But all I was trying to do was to chase the demon in me. Before it overpowered me when I was not yet ready.

But it happened the way it happened. Who knows how it works, this law of attraction? Playing havoc in my life’s plan.

It happened the way it happened. And our circumstance is distressing.

You are different to me in the most important way that counts.

And for that, regardless of all these feelings, we could never be.

And though I regret this circumstance that sets us apart, I know deep inside that it is for the best.

It’s for the best.

It’s for the best because God has promised.

I am happy now and I am content to say goodbye.

Until we meet again.

Maybe later on, the circumstance would change.

But who knows, by that time, both of us might have moved on.

And the circumstance would cease to be significant then. Becoming only one part of your personal evolution

That all human beings go through with the help of divine revelation.

Then, I can meet you; happy friendship in my own terms.

My shy glance is replaced by confidence.

And my smile at you, instead of designed to impress, would be genuine in its happiness.

P/S: The above was my feeble attempt at poetic writing (I wouldn’t even know what to call this piece…doesn’t seem like a poem to me though if I were to be strictly honest, that was my intention, sheesh). I think medicine have wreaked havoc in my once-very-artistic-arty brain. Ugh!